Dream . Believe . Achieve

Sunday, April 14, 2024

Aircrafts acquired by Indian Air Force

Bestseller Books For Your preparation

Aircrafts acquired by Indian Air Force

Hello aspirants,

As we all know the power of Indian air force that it 4th strongest air force in the world following USA, Russia and Israel at top 3 position. With about 1.7 lakhs of personals and more than 1500 aircrafts Indian air force of royal air force of United Kingdom, China, France and other nations.

Today I am discussing about the aircrafts that Indian air force acquired and also some details about that aircrafts.

Aircrafts are divided into 5 parts that is

  1. Fighter
  2. Attack
  3. Transport
  4. Trainer
  5. Helicopter

Today I am sharing information about fighters and attackers aircraft.




1. Sukhoi 30 mki

It is the Russian origin aircraft which is manufactured by sukhoi desing buero in Russia. In 2017 there were 240 aircrafts  and by the end of 2019 , 272 will be in the Indian air force.

It is a twin engine multirole combact aircraft and it has following specifications

Weapons :
Rocket + missiles + Bombs

Su-30 MKI also manufactured by HAL with the license of sukhoi 30.


2. Mirage 2000

The Dassault Mirage 2000, known as Vajra (Sanskrit for Diamond or thunderbolt) in Indian service, is the primary multirole fighter, the IAF currently operates 49 Mirage 2000Hs and 8 Mirage 2000 TH all of which are currently being upgraded to the Mirage 2000-5 MK2 standard with Indian specific modifications and 2 Mirage 2000-5 MK2 are in service as of March 2015.

Weopons: Guns + Rockets + Missiles + Bombs

3. MIG 29

Mikoyan MiG-29: The Mikoyan MiG-29 known as Baaz (Hindi for Hawk) is a dedicated air superiority fighter and constitutes a second line of defence after the Sukhoi Su-30MKI. 69 MiG-29s are in service, all of which have been recently upgraded to the MiG-29UPG standard

The Mikoyan MiG-29 (NATO reporting name: Fulcrum) is a twin-engine jet fighter aircraft designed in the Soviet Union. Developed by the Mikoyan design bureau as an air superiority fighter during the 1970s, the MiG-29, along with the larger Sukhoi Su-27, was developed to counter new U.S. fighters such as the McDonnell Douglas F-15 Eagle and the General Dynamics F-16 Fighting Falcon. The MiG-29 entered service with the Soviet Air Forces in 1982.


4. MIG 21

Mikoyan-Gurevich Mig 21: The Mig 21 serves as an intercepter aircraft in the IAF. The IAF have phased out most of its MiG-21s and plans to keep only 125 that have been upgraded to MiG-21 Bison standard. These aircraft will be phased out between 2014 and 2017

The Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-21 ( NATO name: Fishbed) is a supersonic jet fighter and intercepter aircraft designed by the Soviet Union


5. HAL Tejas

HAL Tejas: The MiG-21s are planned to be replaced by the indigenously built HAL Tejas The first Tejas IAF unit, No. 45 squadron unit Flying Daggers was formed on 1 July 2016 with two aircraft. Initially being stationed at Banglore, the first squadron will be placed at its home base at Sulur, Tamil Nadu. The Tejas will comprise 40 aircraft of the MK1 variant and 83 of the MK1A variant. The latter will have an AESA radar, improved EW fit and internal changes for ease of maintenance

The HAL Tejas is an Indian single-engine, multirole jet fighter designed by the Aeronautical development agency (ADA) and HAL for the Indian air force and Indian Navy. It came from the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme, which began in the 1980s to replace India's ageing MIG 21 fighters. In 2003, the LCA was officially named "Tejas".


Attack aircraft


  1. Jaguar


SEPECAT Jaguar: The SEPECAT Jaguar known as Shamsher serves as the IAF's primary ground attack force. The IAF currently operates 139 Jaguars. The first batch of DARIN-1 Jaguars are now going through a DARIN-3 upgrade being equipped with EL/M-2052 AESA radars, and an improved jamming suite plus new avionics.

The SEPECAT Jaguar is a British-French jet attack aircraft originally used by the British Royal air force and the French air force in the close air support and nuclear strike role. It is still in service in significantly upgraded form with the Indian air force.


        2.  MIG 27

  • Mikoyan Mig 27: The Mikoyan Mig 27 known as Bahadur (Hindi for Valiant) serves as the IAF's primary ground attack force. The IAF currently operates over 85 MiG-27s. The type will be phased out soon to account for increasing serviceability concerns and 40 of them have been upgraded for improved strike missions, including laser designation and with self-protection jamming.

The Mikoyan MiG-27 (NATO name: Flogger-D/J) is a variable geometry ground attack aircraft, originally built by the Mikoyan-Gurevich design bureau in the Soviet Union and later licence-produced in India by Hindustan Aeronautics as the Bahadur ("Valiant"). It is based on the MiG 23 fighter aircraft, but optimized for air-to-ground attack. Unlike the MiG-23, the MiG-27 did not see widespread use outside Russia, as most countries opted for the MiG23BN and Sukhoi Su 22 instead. It remains in service with the Indian, Kazakh and Sri Lankan Air Forces in the ground attack role. All Russian and Ukrainian MiG-27s have been retired.


3. Rafael

The Dassault Rafale, literally meaning "gust of wind", and "burst of fire" in a more military sense) is a French twin-engine, canard delta wing, multirole fighter aircraft designed and built by Dassault Aviation. Equipped with a wide range of weapons, the Rafale is intended to perform air supremecy, interdiction, aerial reconnianse, ground support, in-depth strike, anti-ship strike and nuclear deterrence missions. The Rafale is referred to as an "omnirole" aircraft by Dassault.

What’s your Reaction?
BlogsAircrafts acquired by Indian Air Force
BlogsAircrafts acquired by Indian Air Force
DDE editor
DDE editor
DDE Editorial Team comprises of researchers & content writers. The source of write ups are individual researches, references, informants and documentations. If you wish to submit a write up or information please write to contactus@defencedirecteducation.com



Stay Connected




Latest Articles