Dream . Believe . Achieve

Friday, December 2, 2022

President Confers Gallantry Awards On Armed Forces Personnel

President Confers Gallantry Awards On Armed Forces Personnel

Start Your Preperations

President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday presented Gallantry Awards and Distinguished Service Decorations at the Defence Investiture Ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

For displaying conspicuous gallantry, indomitable courage and extreme devotion to the duty, President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday conferred gallantry awards including two Kirti Chakras and 15 Shaurya Chakras to the armed forces personnel. Two Kirti Chakras and two Shaurya Chakras were given posthumously.

The Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces conferred Kirti Chakras on Sepoy Vijay Kumar of Indian Army and Constable Pradip Kumar Panda of CRPF posthumously.

Displaying exceptional bravery and commitment to duty during counter-terrorist operations in Jammu and Kashmir, both of them made the supreme sacrifice for the nation.

Posthumous Shaurya Chakras were presented to Sepoy Ajay Kumar (Mechanised Infantry, 42nd Battalion, Rashtriya Rifles) for displaying "courage, exceptional valour to neutralise a terrorist" and safeguarding his team, and Rifleman Jaiprakash Oraon (4th Battalion, Assam Rifles) for extraordinary courage and eliminating two terrorists and injuring two more during an operation in Manipur, despite being grievously injured.


Other recipients of Shaurya Chakra are: Major Pawan Kumar (Rashtriya Rifles), Kuldeep Singh Chahar, Zile Singh (both CRPF), Rifleman Rathva Lilesh Bhai (Assam Rifles), Lt. Col. Vikrant Prasher, Capt. Abhay Sharm, Major Rohit Lingwal, Naib Subedar Anil Kumar Dahiya, Havildar Jaweed Ahmad Bhat, Havildar Kul Bahadur Thapa (all Parachute Regiment – Special Forces), Lt. Col. Arjun Sharma (Jat Regiment), Major Imliakum Keitzar (Gorkha Rifles) and Irfan Ramzan Sheikh.


The President also conferred 13 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, two Uttam Yudh Seva Medals and 26 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals to senior officers of the armed forces for distinguished service of an exceptional order.

Uttam Yudh Seva Medal was conferred on Lieutenant General Anil Kumar Bhatt for successful counter-terrorist operations conducted under him in Jammu and Kashmir.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Army Chief General Bipin Rawat, Navy Chief Admiral Sunil Lanba and Air Force Chief Air Chief Marshal B S Dhanoa and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

NewsPresident Confers Gallantry Awards On Armed Forces Personnel
NewsPresident Confers Gallantry Awards On Armed Forces Personnel


DDE editor
DDE editor
DDE Editorial Team comprises of researchers & content writers. The source of write ups are individual researches, references, informants and documentations. If you wish to submit a write up or information please write to contactus@defencedirecteducation.com



Stay Connected





Latest Articles