With the partition of India, post-independence, the Royal Indian Navy was divided into the Royal Indian Navy (RIN) and the Royal Pakistan Navy.

Two-thirds of the Royal Indian Navy's asset remained with India and balance went to Pakistan Navy.

On 15 August 1947, Rear Admiral JTS Hall, RIN, was appointed as India's first Flag Officer Commanding Royal Indian Navy.


With India becoming a Republic on 26 January 1950, the prefix 'Royal' was dropped and it was rechristened as the Indian Navy.

The Crown of the Royal Indian Navy's Crest was replaced by Ashoka Lion Motif for Indian Navy's Emblem.

The invocation to Lord Varuna (The Sea God) in the Vedas was adopted by Indian Navy for its emblem, with the Motto: “Sam no Varunah”, meaning: “Be auspicious unto us Oh Varuna”.

The inscription of “Satyamev Jayate” below the State Emblem was included in the Indian Navy's Crest.


In Great Britain, the monarch used to present ‘Colours’ to the Navy, Army and Air Force as well as to the Commanders-in-Chief of the forces. This ‘King's Colour’ was paraded ashore on every special ceremonial occasion.

In 1924, King George presented his colours to the British Navy. In 1935, the ‘King's Colours’ was presented to the Royal Indian Navy.

On 25 January,1950, all 33 of the King’s Colours which had been presented to the Royal Indian Navy, Royal Indian Army and Royal Indian Air Force and their respective Commands were ‘laid up’ at the Indian Military Academy at Dehradun.

Colours (Presidential Colours) were presented to Indian Navy, by the then President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad on 27 May 1951. On 22 April 1958, Vice Admiral R D Katari, become the first Indian Naval Officer to take over as the Chief of the Naval Staff of Indian Navy.


On 21 October 1944, Navy Day was celebrated for the first time. This met with considerable success and aroused enthusiasm.

Seeing its success, similar functions were organised every year on a larger scale and later in the season when the weather was cooler.

Since 1972, Navy Day is being celebrated on 04 December to commemorate the very successful naval actions in the Arabian Sea, Bay of Bengal and the missile attack on Karachi harbour during the India-Pakistan war of 1971 and to pay homage to all the martyrs of the war.

During this time the Indian Naval Ships, aircraft and establishments are open to visitors and school children.