The Indian National Flag : All You Need To Know

republic day 2020

The Indian National Flag : All You Need To Know. As India Celebrate its 71st Republic Day on 26 January 2020 it is important for us to know the importance of our flag.

The Flag : The Indian National flag, the tricolour as the world calls it or “Tiranga” as we call it, is indeed one of the most meaningful flags in the world which portrays the rich history of India. A flag can say a lot about the country, it represents the citizens, the values, cultures, norms, and traditions. Pingali Venkayya was the first person to raise the issue of having a national flag for the nation. The official dimensions of the flag are 3feet broad and 2 feet tall. On 22nd July 1947, the tricolor was accepted to be the official flag of India.

The three stripes are :

Saffron: or “bhagwa” stands for courage, sacrifice, renunciation, and selflessness. Quoting Dr. Sarvepalli, “Bhagwa or the saffron color denotes renunciation or disinterestedness. Our leaders must be indifferent to material gains and dedicate themselves to their work”.

White: This colour stands for honesty, purity, peace, cleanliness, and knowledge. White is a symbol of light, lightens the path of truth to guide the nation.

Green: represents prosperity, faith, and fertility. It also indicates greenery all over India, as ours is an agricultural nation.

indian flag hd

Ashok Chakra: The Chakra represents “Dharma” or righteousness towards the nation and its citizens. The Ashok Chakra contains 24 spokes in the center which also presents the 24 precious hours of the whole day and motivates the citizens to utilize them to the fullest. The dharma chakra, also present in Sarnath it was taken by King Ashoka to represent on the top of his pillars. The navy blue colour of the chakra represents the sky and the ocean.

According to the Hindu religion, all the 24 spokes of the national Flag represents the Life means The Dharma which are as follows: Love, Courage, Patience, Peacefulness, Magnanimity, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, Selflessness, Self-Control, Self Sacrifice, Truthfulness, Righteousness, Justice, Mercy, Gracefulness, Humility, Empathy, Sympathy, Spiritual Knowledge, Moral Values, Spiritual Wisdom, The Fear of God and Faith (Belief or Hope).

best afcat book

A few important excerpts from the Flag Code of India(2002) :

  • The flag has to be hoisted after sunrise and should be lowered down by sunset
  • The Tiranga cant be used for clothing, curtains or any religious purposes
  • The flag shouldn’t be below your height and no flag should be higher than the tricolor if two flags are present at the same time and place.
  • The length height ratio of the flag has to be 3:2.
  • While hoisting and lowering the flag or during a parade, all people present should face the flag and stand at attention while persons in uniform should stand at attention and salute.

There are a few misconceptions about our Tiranga in the society which has associated it with the religious boundaries, but it isn’t like that and the curators of our flag had a deeper sense of meaning while designing it! The Tiranga is for Indians as a whole, let’s be proud of the fact that ours is one of the rare few countries with so much of diversity of culture, language traditions, and whatnot.

“Unity in Diversity”


Article Submitted By:
Havi Joshi




Start your SSB preparations with these specially curated ebooks.

Stage 1 SSB – SSB Oir ebook

SSB Psychology Test – Click Here

SSB Group Tasks  – Click Here

Thematic Apperception Test – Click Here

Situation Reaction Test – Click Here