All you need to know about Defence Space Research Organisation

The government has recently apporved making of Defence Space Research Organisation (DSRO). This post will tell you all you need to know about DSRO and Defence Space Agency (DSA).

What is Defence Space Research Organisation (DSRO)?

DSRO stands for Defence Space Research Organisation. It is a new organisation which will be created in field space security field. It will be seconf such organisation after Defence Space Agency(DSA). Both agencies are aimed at developing a multidimensional approach to using outer space for strategic purposes.
DSRO would be provided with a team of scientists and would be working in close coordination with the tri-services integrated Defence staff officers.
It would provide the research and development support to the Defence Space Agency (DSA) which comprises members of the three services (Army, Naval and Air Force).
DSRO will provide technical and research support to its parent organization, the Defence Space Agency.
DSRO will develop space warfare systems and associated technology.The organization is also charged with finding and implementing defense applications for India’s entire spectrum of space technologies.

What is Defence Space Agency (DSA)?

In April, the government established the Defence Space Agency, or DSA, to command the space assets of the Army, Navy and Air Force, including the military’s anti-satellite capability. The agency is also to formulate a strategy to protect India’s interests in space, including addressing space-based threats.
The DSA will be headed by an Air Force vice marshal and will have a staff of 200 personnel from three wings of the armed forces, according to another MoD official. DSA is being set up in Bengaluru.
India’s existing military space agencies — including the Defence Imagery Processing and Analysis Centre, located in New Delhi, and the Defence Satellite Control Centre, located in Bhopal — will be merged with DSA.

Mission Shakti

In March, India also conducted an anti-satellite test, Mission Shakti, which demonstrated its capability to shoot down satellites in space. With this missile test, India joined an elite club of four nations with such capability. Only US, China and Russia had this capability before the test. The test also helped the country develop deterrence capability against adversaries who may want to attack Indian satellites to cripple systems in times of war.

Cabinet Committee on Security

India's Cabinet Committee on Security has aproved its creation of DSRO. Cabinet Committee on Security is headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The CCS consists of 5 major ministers. These include the Prime Minister, The Defence Minister, Minister of Home Affairs, Minister of External Affairs and the Finance Minister.
Presently, the ministers part of this commitee are:

  1. Narendra Damodardas Modi, Prime Minister
  2. Amit Anil Chandra Shah, Minister of Home Affairs
  3. Rajnath Singh, Minister of Defence
  4. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar , Minister of External Affairs
  5. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of Finance