DRDO Laboratories – All You Need To Know

DRDO is one organisation that takes the laurels for its outstanding achievement. Consequently, it takes the blame for its inability to deliver the required systems on time.

DRDO was formed in 1958 under then functioning Technical Development Establishment (TDE) of the Indian Army and the Directorate of Technical Development & Production (DTDP) with the Defence Science Organisation (DSO). It was a small organisation then with 10 laboratories only.

Today, DRDO is a network of 50 laboratories and growing. They play a major part in our research and development. Over 5000 Scientists and about 25,000 other scientific, technical and supporting personnel are its workforce. The total budget of DRDO for the financial year 2018-19 is 17,861.19 crores. As a matter of fact, India is the 2nd largest arms importer now.

Lets know about its laboratories.


Defence Avionics Research Establishment (DARE), Bangalore

Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE), Bangalore

Aerial Delivery Research and Development Establishment (ADRDE), Agra

Centre For Air Borne System (CABS),Bangalore

Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE), Bangalore

  • Centre For Military Airworthiness Certificate (CEMILAC), Bangalore


Armament Research & Development Establishment (ARDE), Pune

Centre for Fire, Explosive and Environment Safety (CFEES), Delhi

High Energy Materials Research Laboratory (HEMRL), pune

Proof & Experimental Establishment (PXE), Balasore

Terminal Ballistic research Laboratory (TBRL), Chandigarh

  • Advanced Center For Energetic Materials (ACEM), Nasik


Combat Vehicles Research & Development Estt (CVRDE), chennai

Research & Development Establishment (RDE(E)), Pune

Snow & Avalanche Study Estt (SASE), chandigarh

Vehicle Research & Development Establishment (VRDE), Ahmednagar


Centre For Artificial Intelligence & Robotics (CAIR), Bangalore

Defence Electronics Application Laboratory (DEAL), Dehradun

Defence Electronics Research Laboratory, (DERL), Hyderabad

Defence Terrain Research Laboratory (DTRL), Delhi

Instruments Research & Development Establishment (IRDE), Dehradun

Laser Science & Technology centre (LASTEC), Delhi

Electronics & Radar development establishment (LRDE), Bangalore

Scientific Analysis Group (SAG), Delhi


Defence Scientific Information & Documentation Centre (DESIDOC), Delhi

Defence Institute of Advanced Technology (DIAT), Pune

Institute of technology Management (ITM), Mussorie


Defence Bio-Engineering & Electro Medicinal Laboratory (DEBEL), Bangalore

Defence Food Research Laboratory (DFRL), Mysore

Defence Institute of Bio-Energy Research (DIBER), Haldwani

Defence Institute of High Altitude Research (DIHAR), Leh, Ladakh

Defence Institute of Physiology & Allied Science (DIPAS), Delhi

Defence Institute of Psychological Research (DIPR), Delhi

Defence Research & Development Establishment (DRDE), Gwalior

Defence Research Laboratory (DRL), Tejpur

Institute of Nuclear Medicine & Allied Science (INMAS), Delhi


Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (DMRL), Hyderabad

Defence Laboratory (DLJ), Jodhpur

Defence Materials & Stores Research & Development Establishment (DMSRDE), Kanpur


Advanced Numerical Research & Analysis Group (ANURAG), Hyderabad

Microwave Tube Research & Development Centre (MTRDC), Bangalore

Solid State Physics Laboratory (SSPL), Delhi

Centre For Advanced Semiconductor Technology (ASEMIT), Delhi


Defence research & Development Laboratory (DRDL), Hyderabad

Institute of Systems Studies &Analysis (ISSA), Delhi

Integrated Test Range (ITR), Balasore

Research Centre Imarat (RCI), Hyderabad


Naval Materials Research Laboratory (NMRL), Ambernath

Naval Physics & Oceanographic Laboratory (NPOL), Cochin

  • Naval Science & Technological Laboratory (NSTL), Vishakapatnam

JAI HIND.​​​​​​​